Finalists announced: 2019 Academic Staff Awards

Congratulations to the 2019 Academic Staff Award finalists. The awards represent Macquarie’s long history of teaching and research excellence with the winners and highly commended celebrated during a ceremony on 18 November.

Keep an eye on social over the coming weeks as we get to know the finalists in each faculty.


The Jim Piper Award for Excellence in Research Leadership
Associate Professor Malcolm Choat
Professor Roger Chung
Associate Professor Paul Sowman

Excellence in Research: Five Future-shaping Research Priorities
Associate Professor Paul Beggs
Professor Karu Esselle
Dr David Bulger
Dr Maria Kovaleva
Dr Celia Harris
Associate Professor Kate Lloyd
Associate Professor Sandie Suchet-Pearson
Professor Deborah Schofield
Professor Phillip Taylor

Excellence in Higher Degree Research Supervisor of the Year Award
Professor Kirstie Fryirs
Professor Jennie Hudson
Professor Chris Patel

Macquarie University Early Career Researcher of the Year
Dr Miriam Forbes
Dr Milena Gandy
Dr Katrina Hutchison

Dr Mohsen Asadnia
Dr Devika Kamath
Dr Bingyang Shi

Excellence in Higher Degree Research
Mr Nicholas Everett
Ms Cathleen Taylor-Rubin
Dr Lina Teichmann

Dr Affan Aziz Baba
Mr Ali Lalbakhsh
Ms Stephanie Rayner


Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Student Nominated Award
Dr Sonya Willis
Mr Roderick Smith
Associate Professor Tiffany Jones
Associate Professor Naomi Sweller
Dr Joel Fuller
Ms Alexandra Bhatti
Dr Bruno Alves Buzatto
Dr Gaurav Gupta
Dr Paul Crosby
Dr LayPeng Tan
Mr Daniel Lombardo
Mr Aleksandar Stefanovic

Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Sessional Staff Award
Dr Saartje Tack
Miss Lauren Ehrenfeld
Ms Charanya Ramakrishnan
Dr Frances Chang

Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Early Career Award
Ms Alexandra Bhatti
Dr Christopher Lustri
Dr Chong It Tan

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence
Dr Yves-Heng Lim and team members: Fred Smith and Dr Adam Lockyer
Associate Professor Matt Bower
Dr Matthew Bulbert and team members: Serene Lin-Stephens, Fiona Jones and Associate Professor Martin Whiting
Dr Prashan Shayanka Mendis Karunaratne

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Learning Innovation
Associate Professor Kira Westaway and team members: Michael Rampe and Matthew Cabanag
Dr Robyn Westcott
Dr Mauricio Marrone
The Foundation and Diploma Direct Entry Program Team lead by Ms Alejandra Vazquez

Vice-Chancellor’s Educational Leader Award
Professor Catherine Dean
Dr Matthew Bulbert
Dr Prashan Shayanka Mendis Karunaratne
Dr Pamela Humphreys


The Academic Staff Awards will be held on Monday 18 November from 3pm to 5.30pm in the Graduation Hall (14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue).





Back to homepage


Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

We encourage active and constructive debate through our comments section, but please remain respectful; you are part of a diverse community. You may wish to read Macquarie's Student Code of Conduct and the Public Comment Policy before you post.

Any comments deemed to be obscene, discriminatory or defamatory will be removed and where appropriate, further action may be taken.