Congrats to this year’s Blues Award winners!


Tyler Martin receiving the Chancellor’s award from Chancellor The Hon Michael Egan, AO

Last week the annual Macquarie Blues Awards were held on campus to recognise current and former students’ outstanding achievements both on and off the field.

Six athletes were awarded the highly prestigious Full Blue award, while another six received the Half Blue award. Eight retrospective Full Blue recipients were also welcomed back for the night to receive their commemorative blazers.

This year’s awards also saw the return of the beloved club of the year and rookie of the year awards. The Cheerleading Club, which has experienced exponential growth from just nine to almost 100 members in a few short years, was awarded the club award.

The rookie award, which recognises high-level sport performance by a student in their first year of study at Macquarie, was awarded to Tom Schramko, who took out gold at the World Under 23 Championships at the World Rowing Championships in Rotterdam earlier this year.

Macquarie Sport’s most prestigious scholarship, the Ted O’Keeffe scholarship, was presented to Kiana Elliot. Kiana is the top ranked junior weightlifter in Australia, with current personal bests of an 88 kg snatch and a 110 kg clean and jerk. She holds multiple Australian and NSW records as well as the Oceania junior snatch record.

Female sport athlete of the year was awarded to Melissa Wu. Melissa has proven to be an incredible athlete and mentor for young competitors, such that Diving Australia named her their inaugural diving captain. In 2016, Melissa won bronze at the world cup and gold in the national championship Olympic trials. Rio was her third Olympic Games.

Male sport athlete of the year was awarded to Tom Trbojevic. Tom is an Australian professional Rugby League footballer who currently plays for the Manly Warringah Sea Eagles in the NRL. Tom received the club’s best and fairest award this year, and was also selected to attend the NSW State of Origin camp.

The prestigious Chancellor’s award was presented to Tyler Martin. Tyler made his international water polo debut for Australia in 2010, and the following year won silver at the Volvo Cup in Hungary. He made his World Championships debut in 2013, and he has gone on to play professionally in France, Italy, Hungary and Brazil. Tyler made his Olympic debut in Rio this year as part of the Australian Water Polo team.

Congrats to all the winners!

Full Blue recipients
James Chapman
Kiana Elliot
Rosie Lee
Jennifer Tam
James Tod-Hill
Jonathan Venter

Half Blue recipients
Ashleigh Blake
Clare Costanzo
Samuel Crean
Georgios Fountotos
Jackson Mills
Thomas Trbojevic

Leigh Barnier ‘Spirit of the Games’ recipient:
Chloe Wilson

Retrospective Blue recipients 
Phillip Keady (1983, Rugby League)
Peter Davies (1990, Athletics)
Robert Treharne (1999, Boardsailing)
Mark Symonds (2001, Boardsailing)
Eliza Stewart (2006, Athletics)
Damien Fitzpatrick (2013, Rugby Union)
Sarah Beale (2015, Equestrian)
Pascalle Casey (2015, Water Polo)






Back to homepage


Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

We encourage active and constructive debate through our comments section, but please remain respectful; you are part of a diverse community. You may wish to read Macquarie's Student Code of Conduct and the Public Comment Policy before you post.

Any comments deemed to be obscene, discriminatory or defamatory will be removed and where appropriate, further action may be taken.